小情歌 (Xiao Qing Ge) by 蘇打綠 (Sodagreen)

June 8, 2008 at 11:24 am (** Medium, Male Singers, Pinyin lyrics) (, )

In my opinion, 蘇打綠 (Sodagreen) is one of Taiwan’s best musical products. Their music is a far cry from the pop that dominates the airwaves and MTV, both in lyrics and instrumentation. They also have a secret weapon: lead singer 吳青峰 (Wu Qing Feng), whose voice is both smooth and unusual (and who, incidentally, was a classmate of a friend of mine – yet another reminder of what a small place Taiwan really is). If you are in a position to easily get your hands on Chinese music, I highly recommend last year’s album 無與倫比的美麗. You can find information on it here. My next CD purchase will probably be their new live album, out last month, which also contains a couple of new studio tracks.

This song is from Sodagreen’s 2006 album, 小宇宙, but it seems like it’s experiencing a bit of a revival recently. It’s actually a bit of a difficult song for me personally (a few of the lines are tongue twisters), but I’ll be proud if I can ever sing it well.
One special note, though. Although 吳青峰 is indeed male, many of his songs, like this one, are far out of the range of most male singers. That’s why I’m putting this into both the male and female categories.

Oh! And be sure to check out Sodagreen’s official site (below). It’s got an awesome concept.

這是一首簡單的小情歌
zhe shi yi shou jian dan de xiao qing ge

唱著人們心腸的曲折
chang zhe ren men xin chang de qu zhe

我想我很快樂
wo xiang wo hen kuai le

當有你的溫熱
dang you ni de wen re

腳邊的空氣轉了
jiao bian de kong qi zhuan le

這是一首簡單的小情歌
zhe shi yi shou jian dan de xiao qing ge

唱著我們心頭的白鴿
chang zhe wo men xin tou de bai ge

我想我很適合
wo xiang wo hen shi he

當一個歌頌者
dang yi ge ge song zhe

青春在風中飄著
qing chun zai feng zhong piao zhe

你知道
ni zhi dao

就算大雨讓整座城市顛倒
jiu suan da yu rang zheng zuo cheng shi dian dao

我會給你懷抱
wo hui gei ni huai bao

受不了
shou bu liao

看見你背影來到
kan jian ni bei ying lai dao

寫下我
xie xia wo

度秒如年難捱的離騷
du miao ru nian nan ai de li sao

就算整個世界被寂寞綁票
jiu suan zheng ge shi jie bei ji mo bang piao

我也不會奔跑
wo ye bu hui ben pao

逃不了
tao bu liao

最後誰也都蒼老
zui hou shei ye dou cang lao

寫下我
xie xia wo

時間和琴聲交錯的城堡
shi jian he qin sheng jiao cuo de cheng bao

這是一首簡單的小情歌
zhe shi yi shou jian dan de xiao qing ge

唱著我們心頭的白鴿
chang zhe wo men xin tou de bai ge

我想我很適合
wo xiang wo hen shi he

當一個歌頌者
dang yi ge ge song zhe

青春在風中飄著
qing chun zai feng zhong piao zhe

你知道
ni zhi dao

就算大雨讓整座城市顛倒
jiu suan da yu rang zheng zuo cheng shi dian dao

我會給你懷抱
wo hui gei ni huai bao

受不了
shou bu liao

看見你背影來到
kan jian ni bei ying lai dao

寫下我
xie xia wo

度秒如年難捱的離騷
du miao ru nian nan ai de li sao

就算整個世界被寂寞綁票
jiu suan zheng ge shi jie bei ji mo bang piao

我也不會奔跑
wo ye bu hui ben pao

逃不了
tao bu liao

最後誰也都蒼老
zui hou shei ye dou cang lao

寫下我
xie xia wo

時間和琴聲交錯的城堡
shi jian he qin sheng jiao cuo de cheng bao

你知道
ni zhi dao

就算大雨讓整座城市顛倒
jiu suan da yu rang zheng zuo cheng shi dian dao

我會給你懷抱
wo hui gei ni huai bao

受不了
shou bu liao

看見你背影來到
kan jian ni bei ying lai dao

寫下我
xie xia wo

度秒如年難捱的離騷
du miao ru nian nan ai de li sao

就算整個世界被寂寞綁票
jiu suan zheng ge shi jie bei ji mo bang piao

我也不會奔跑
wo ye bu hui ben pao

逃不了
tao bu liao

最後誰也都蒼老
zui hou shei ye dou cang lao

寫下我
xie xia wo

時間和琴聲交錯的城堡
shi jian he qin sheng jiao cuo de cheng bao
Lyrics at KKBOX: http://www.kkbox.com.tw/funky/web_info/NPEo.IY-g7sZZc500JsU008l.html

Sodagreen’s Official Site: http://www.sodagreen.com.tw/main/index.html

11 Comments

  1. Veronique said,

    Nice song, I like it very much. Really appreciate the lyrics & the MV. Awesome. Btw, r u Taiwanese?

  2. ktvxiaojie said,

    I like it a lot, too. My favorite line is:

    就算大雨讓整座城市顛倒
    jiu suan da yu rang zheng zuo cheng shi dian dao

    我會給你懷抱
    wo hui gei ni huai bao

    And no, not Taiwanese – but I’m an American living in Taiwan, hence all the Taiwan references in my posts.🙂

  3. Veronique said,

    Oh, so u r ABC (American Born Chinese)? wow, unusual to see an American so into Chinese music.🙂

  4. Veronique said,

    Hi, ur favourite line is also mine as well. Meaningful isn’t it? The voice of the lead singer is really unique from other male singers, dun u think so?

  5. ktvxiaojie said,

    Ha – no, I’m white as can be. But living in Taiwan, I don’t hear a lot of the latest American music, and I use Chinese music to help me improve my Chinese, especially reading.

    I think all of 蘇打綠’s songs are rather great, especially because of 吳青峰’s vocal range, but also because the music is always composed so uniquely, at least compared to the backing music of a lot of the famous pop stars in Taiwan. In 蘇打綠’s songs, the music is just as important as the singing!

  6. Sirhin said,

    I was searching for lyrics to this song in traditional Chinese and I FINALLY found it with this!😀 Thanks SOOOO much!

    Also, I think it’s really cool that you’re “white as can be” but are listening to Chinese music.🙂 I also think it’s VERY cool that you know so much Chinese. I’m ABC (sort of) and I’ll be studying abroad this Fall in China so I’m brushing up on my Chinese by listening to Chinese songs, writing down the lyrics and trying to see what I understand. (It’s REALLY hard to find Asian songs here!) It’s not Taiwan – but it’s close (distance-wise)! I personally haven’t been listening to American songs for over a year now. I have been focusing on music from Taiwan, Japan, and Korea.

    Anyway, 加油!!

  7. Claire said,

    I do like Sodagreen, especially Greeny. I think he has a heavenly and unique voice that makes him become more outstanding than other male singers. Some friends of mine told me that his voice is very like female’s voice and they suspected that maybe it’s not his real voice, he adds some effects to make his voice smoother. However, when they watched sodagreen’s liveshow, they considered they’re wrong and now they also addict to his voice like me ^.^
    I always try to search more information about all the members of Sodagreen on the internet but I only find out their name. I really wanna know more about them, especially Feng, A-Ful and Claire (–>feel happy coz her E-name is like mine hehehe…) Maybe because my chinese is not gud (I’m not Chinese) so I only find in wesites written in English so I can’t find more about them. So surprise when I know that Greeny is a classmate of your friend ^^ >>> OMG, I’m crazy bcoz of him >”> U know this song?) but I don’t like this E-vers, it’s incomparable to orginal vers coz it’s not suitable for playing in jazz style and its lyric is too ordinary ><
    I really like Chinese music, I think chinese songs are not only gud at melody ut also at the lyric. Maybe because of that, I try to learn Chinese ^^,. I think listening chinese music is one of the best way to improve our chinese.
    I feel very happy to know that you’re also a fan of Sodagreen and I also find more about them at your site. Thx a lot ^^~

  8. Claire said,

    OMG, I feel so sorry, maybe I post a long post so I wonder if there’s something wrong wit it..my post’s lost some sentences. Then I repost that part:
    “……So surprise when I know that Greeny is a classmate of your friend ^^ >>> OMG, I’m crazy bcoz of him >”.<. …”

  9. Claire said,

    “Litlle love song” is the first song of Sodagreen I listened 4 yrs ago. Now it’s still on my everyday playlist. And I always try to search for Eng trans on Internet but I can’t. I believe it has a very touch meaning besides its beautiful melodies. Would U mind translating it from chinese to English for me? If U help me, I’ll thank U thousand times, I swear…hihi….
    I also listened to an English vers of it (named “Walking the road of love” sung by Ana.U know this song?) Actually I don’t like this E-vers, it’s incomparable to orginal vers coz it’s not suitable for playing in jazz style and its lyric is too ordinary >.<. …”

  10. Xinyun said,

    Hello!

    I like Sodagreen a lot too! I think they are special and great.

    And my favourite line is

    度秒如年難捱的離騷
    du miao ru nian nan ai de li sao

    I like how the words seem to join together.

    PS. Thanks for the lyrics🙂

  11. Movie Music: 不能說的秘密 (Bu Neng Shuo de Mi Mi) by 周杰倫 (Zhou Jie Lun/Jay Chou) « KTV小姐 said,

    […] at the 2007 Golden Horse Awards. Furthermore, this song won Best Original Film Song, beating out Sodagreen’s 小情歌 (which was featured in the film Exit No. 6, a silly movie shot in my […]

Leave a Reply

