“5 Days in Taipei” & a Jay Chou moment

June 1, 2010 at 10:09 pm (Notes) (, )

Folks stopping by because you’re interested in Chinese music might also be interested in the blog project I’m currently working on, 5 Days in Taipei. I recently asked people to submit ideas for a jam-packed 5-day vacation in Taipei, with the hopes of discovering some new places in my adopted city. You can follow the results of the 5-day trip here: http://5daysintaipei.wordpress.com/

The project has officially ended, but now comes the task of writing and posting photos of all the amazing things I saw during my 5 days. I’ve currently only reached the end of Day 2. My goal was to do 50 interesting things of the original list of 94 ideas, and I’ve only blogged 16 of them so far. That means KTV小姐 is temporarily on hold until I catch up, unless I come across some fabulous new music I must share at once.

Speaking of new music… though I wouldn’t call it fabulous, Jay Chou‘s new album is out. Here’s the first single, which I can’t say I love very much. Perhaps you’ll like it:

3 Comments

  1. Parker said,

    When you first listen to Jay’s new album, it is easy to pass it as sub-par piece. I highly recommend 雨下一整晚. The mix of guitar + er hu creates a beautiful melody.

  2. Ming Chang said,

    Hey, I had the same reaction as you to this song too, the first time I heard the song, I felt disappointed that Jay Chou is no longer as good as he used to be. The second time I listened to it, it wasn’t too bad, though still didn’t like it a lot. Though the more I heard the song, the more I couldn’t stop listening to it. I guess that’s the case with a lot of Jay Chou songs, it takes a little time, but then all of a sudden you can’t give them up…

    • ktvxiaojie said,

      Thanks for the comments. Truthfully, a couple months out, I’m still not a big fan of this album, and am looking forward to the next venture instead. (but I did like his performance in the Green Hornet!) To be fair, though, I’m kind of disappointed with a lot of the pop legends in the past year… Jay Chou, Wang Leehom, A-Mei… much of their recent work hasn’t been as good/interesting as what’s being produced by new artists. That’s what happens with most popular artists who stick around, though, I guess. I remember having the same feelings about Aerosmith in the late 90s. 🙂

Leave a Reply

